# NEW HAMPSHIRE LIQUOR COMMISSION Industry

Division of Enforcement & Licensing

Industry Circular Number 2024-03

Issued: October 1, 2024

# Extending Contract and Tenant Manufacturing Opportunities to Wine and Liquor Manufacturers

HB 1358

**Relative and Applicable Statutes and Rules:** 

RSA 175:1, 178:12-b, 178:8, 178:6

Prior to the passage of <u>HB 1358</u>, only beverage manufacturers (RSA 178:12) were authorized under Title XIII to engage in contact manufacturing of their products or to acquire a tenant manufacturers license where they would be allowed to utilize the facilities and equipment of another New Hampshire Beverage Manufacturer. HB 1358 has extended these options, and corresponding requirements, to licensed Wine or Liquor Manufacturers.

#### Wine Manufacturers

A wine manufacturer, in addition to making their own wine, may enter into a "contract wine arrangement" with another wine manufacturer to produce wine on their behalf so long as they are either licensed by the Commission or licensed in another state. The wine manufacturer may also become a tenant of another wine manufacturer and produce their wine utilizing the equipment and facilities of an existing wine manufacturer. "A tenant manufacturer shall be subject to the same requirement regarding production of alcoholic beverages as if the manufacturer conducted its manufacturing on its own remise independently." The law requires accurate record keeping and is subject to inspection by the Commission and payment of taxes. Tenant Manufacturers may transport their products within the state for sale and to the border for transportation outside New Hampshire. All wine contracts and tenant arrangements must be filed with the Commission and are subject to a \$240 licensing fee.

#### **Liquor Manufacturers**

A liquor manufacturer, in addition to making their own liquor, may enter into a **"contract liquor arrangement"** with another liquor manufacturer to produce liquor on their behalf so long as they are either licensed by the Commission or licensed in another state. The liquor manufacturer may also become a tenant of another liquor manufacturer and produce their liquor utilizing the equipment and facilities of an existing liquor manufacturer. **"A tenant manufacturer shall be subject to the same requirement regarding production of alcoholic** 





Division of Enforcement & Licensing

Number 2024-03

Issued: October 1, 2024

### beverages as if the manufacturer conducted its manufacturing on its own remise

**independently."** The law requires accurate record keeping and is subject to inspection by the Commission and payment of taxes. Tenant Manufacturers may transport their products within the state for sale and to the border for transportation outside New Hampshire. All liquor contracts and tenant arrangements must be filed with the Commission and are subject to a \$240 licensing fee.

If you have any questions, please contact the Division of Enforcement & Licensing at 603.271.3523.